2021 CFL Standings and Week 1 Predictions

Wow, does it feel good to be back! I have been eagerly anticipating my weekly predictions articles making their triumphant return and here we finally are! It has been a long grueling wait for CFL fans but we survived and tomorrow, we get to see CFL football. Let’s start with my Standings predictions and then get into week one. 

East: 

1) Hamilton: 12-2

2) Montreal: 7-7 

3) Toronto: 6-8 

4) Ottawa: 1-13 

West: 

1) Winnipeg 9-5 

2) Saskatchewan: 8-6 

3) Calgary: 8-6 

4) Edmonton 7-7 (Crossover) 

5) B.C.: 5-9 

How I got here was just tossing a win or a loss on each game and calculating the final standings. I think Edmonton could be better than Calgary this year but I just can’t count out an inexperienced Stamps team until I actually see them play on the field. I think Winnipeg and Saskatchewan should be the classes of the West if the Riders defence can hold up. In the East I think the Argo’s are all hype and Hamilton will run away with the division. Tough to make any concrete predictions on a regular year let alone after a season and a half with no ball and massive turnover but I had fun doing it either way.

Grey Cup Prediction: Saskatchewan vs Hamilton with the Tiger-Cats winning at home. 

 

Now onto week one predictions and odds! I think there is going to be a lot of sloppy football to start the CFL season and that usually benefits the defence leading to lower scoring games. We will see if that is truly the case this week. 

(0-0) Hamilton Tiger-Cats @ (0-0) Winnipeg Blue Bombers Thursday 8:30pm ET

A Banner raising night a couple seasons in the making for the Blue Bombers. It should be an emotional sight for fans across the CFL as we will get our first taste of action in far too long. There are quite a few significant injuries to both teams and I think it will be a close one down to the wire. I feel like the TiCats will exact some revenge for their Grey Cup loss. 

Prediction: Tiger-Cats win 22-19

(0-0) BC Lions @ (0-0) Saskatchewan Roughriders Friday 9:30pm ET

The Lions were not good the last time they took the field but have made some improvements to help out star QB Micheal Reilly. The Riders are predicted by many as a favourite to win the West but their defence is a question mark to me. This is going to be a loud one in Regina. I think the Riders pull one out in front of their home crowd. 

Prediction: Roughriders win 26-20 

(0-0) Toronto Argonauts @ (0-0) Calgary Stampeders Saturday 7:00pm ET 

Toronto brought in the names and a quarter of every other teams rosters it seemed like. Now it is time to see if they can mesh on the field. I’m not super high on this team like some others are but I think they will challenge hard with Montreal all season for second in the East. For Calgary they are a huge question mark for me. They have one of the best players in the CFL but they are very inexperienced in a lot of places and have had a huge roster turnover. I think this could be one of the sloppier games of week 1 but the veteran Bo-Levi Mitchell will find a way to win at home as the Stamps usually do. 

Prediction: Stampeders win 22-18

(0-0) Ottawa Redblacks @ (0-0) Edmonton Elks Saturday 10:00pm ET 

I think Ottawa is in big trouble this year. I just don’t see the weapons on offence at all. Their defence will be good but I don’t think it will be enough to cover for the offence. I think it’s going to be a long season in Canada’s Capital. Edmonton is 100% my dark horse this year. I think they are going to have a very nice offence and their defence should be on the high end of the middle of the pack. Edmonton could be anywhere from 2nd-4th in the West in my opinion and I think they start the season out right on Saturday. 

Prediction: Elks win 23-12

Week 1 Betting odds: (According to Dave Naylor of TSN, No Bodog odds posted yet) 

HAM @ WPG: Take WPG +4

BC @ SSK: Take SSK -4.5 

TOR @ CGY: Take TOR +5

OTT @ EDM: Take EDM -5

Well, it is finally here. Tomorrow we get to watch CFL football. I know when I get to be in Mosaic Stadium Friday I am going to be very emotional and I can’t wait. Have a great week one everybody, thanks for reading! 


Leave a comment