2021 CFL Week 5 Predictions

It’s time for the best regular season weekend of the year! Labour Day is here and we have four exciting matchups in the CFL. Last week I got close to getting back to .500 after a rough week 3. I went 2-1 Against the Spread and 2-1 Money Line. I’m now 7-8 ATS and 7-8 Money Line this season. Let’s see how I see the most exciting weekend of the year playing out. 

(1-2) Montreal Alouettes @ (1-2) Ottawa Redblacks Friday 7:30pm ET

The Als have looked shaky after a great week 1. Vernon Adams jr. has been inaccurate the last two weeks and it has largely affected the offence. They will need to figure it out fast to be in the running for top spot in the east. Ottawa has been brutal offensively which sucks for their defence who is very good. I don’t see why I would expect the Redblacks offence to be any better in week 5. I think the Alouettes win an ugly one. 

Prediction: Alouettes win 21-15

(3-1) Winnipeg Blue Bombers @ (3-0) Saskatchewan Roughriders Sunday 6:00pm ET 

The best matchup on the CFL schedule takes place Sunday and it could be another instant classic. Brett Lauther walked the Bombers off last time these two teams played on Labour Day in 2019 and it was such a fun game. I expect nothing less this week. The Bombers haven’t been great offensively but their defence is nasty. The Riders have been rolling on both sides of the ball so we will see what they come out with after the bye. I can’t wait for this one and I think the Riders win late. 

Prediction: Roughriders win 26-24

(2-1) Toronto Argonauts @ (1-2) Hamilton Tiger-Cats Monday 1:00pm ET 

The Argo’s looked really good with Nick Arbuckle the last time that they played. This team with a good starting QB will be dangerous and could be the class of the CFL’s East Division. Hamilton finally picked up a win with Dane Evans at QB and looked pretty good doing it. I need to see another good week from them to declare the TiCats back but I knew they were better than they looked in the first two weeks. I think Toronto wins a close one. 

Prediction: Argonauts win 24-23

(1-2) Edmonton Elks @ (1-3) Calgary Stampeders Monday 4:30pm ET 

It will be interesting to see how the Elks look after dealing with COVID last week. They may be missing some players which would be tough but they still have a game to play and it is the Labour Day Classic. No excuses. Calgary has looked pretty good with their young QB while Bo is out. He did come off the 6-game injured list this week so it will be interesting to see if he dresses. Jake Maier did take all the first team reps at practice on Thursday though. I think Calgary should win this one considering the circumstances. 

Prediction: Stampeders win 28-20 

Week 5 Betting odds: (According to BetRegal as of Sept. 2) 

MTL @ OTT: Take OTT +7 

WPG @ SSK: Take WPG +4.5 

TOR @ HAM: Take TOR +2 

CGY @ EDM: Take CGY -6 

It’s going to be so much fun to have Labour Day football back. I can’t wait to take in Saskatchewan and Winnipeg in person on Sunday. I hope you all have a great long weekend. Thanks for reading!


Leave a comment